Our rules have been updated and given their own forum. Go and look at them! They are nice, and there may be new ones that you didn't know about! Hooray for rules! Hooray for The System! Hooray for Conforming!
Our new Indie Games subforum is now open for business in G&T. Go and check it out, you might land a code for a free game. If you're developing an indie game and want to post about it, follow these directions. If you don't, he'll break your legs! Hahaha! Seriously though.

[PA Comic] Monday, May 6, 2013 - The Young

• VoranthVoranth Get the humanoid! Registered User regular
    I'm no expert, but I work for an after school program (ages 6-12) and plenty of the kids seem to be in-tune with things like Slenderman, and even the news. Hell, I had elementary kids educating me on the Boston bombings and going rather in depth regarding the police shootout. Some of the kids can't wait for the next season of Walking Dead. Everyone's always talking about the latest youtube video, or some violent sports accident that happened the other day (17 year old punched out and killed a referee over a yellow card or something?). Kids are experiencing or hearing about violent and scary stuff all the time.

Part of growing up is seeing and hearing tons of fucked up shit I think. And personally I don't think age is a good deciding factor for media, a classroom full of 12 year olds can have an incredibly diverse range of mental development. It's up to the parents to decide if the kid is ready for that sort of thing, and usually they are! I think children these days know and experience a lot more than they're letting on as well, especially with the prevalence of internet and personal devices like iPods and tablets where the kids can go out and experience these things without the aid of parents or even friends.

Anyway. Good comic!
    camo_sig2.png
  • KamarKamar Antivillain In The BasementRegistered User regular
    edited May 2013
    GSM wrote: »