Our rules have been updated and given their own forum. Go and look at them! They are nice, and there may be new ones that you didn't know about! Hooray for rules! Hooray for The System! Hooray for Conforming!
Our new Indie Games subforum is now open for business in G&T. Go and check it out, you might land a code for a free game. If you're developing an indie game and want to post about it, follow these directions. If you don't, he'll break your legs! Hahaha! Seriously though.

Laws re: Science Equipment

joshofalltradesjoshofalltrades Fake NerdI just want to be lovedRegistered User regular
Most people who know me personally on here know I'm an environmental chemist. My eldest son recently took an interest in my occupation and has been making attempts to impress me with his knowledge of all things science, which warms the cockles of my heart.

He is constantly asking me to do demonstrations for him, which I used to do when I worked as a research assistant at my university. Now, though, I don't have the sort of things I'd need to do something that would be meaningful and put him squarely ahead of his fellow peers. Unfortunately, I live in Texas, though, and I have heard horror stories that owning anything that has ground glass is a one-way ticket to getting your door kicked down.

I'm not wanting to purchase suspicious chemicals like methylamine or pseudoephedrine in bulk, or dangerous things like compounds with nitro functional groups or chloroform. I just want a very basic set of chemistry tools; things like a round bottom flask with a distillation column and thermometer to demonstrate boiling point, or a couple of common salts that will change colors when poured to demonstrate replacement reactions. That kind of thing.