Our rules have been updated and given their own forum. Go and look at them! They are nice, and there may be new ones that you didn't know about! Hooray for rules! Hooray for The System! Hooray for Conforming!
Our new Indie Games subforum is now open for business in G&T. Go and check it out, you might land a code for a free game. If you're developing an indie game and want to post about it, follow these directions. If you don't, he'll break your legs! Hahaha! Seriously though.

Starting My Own Tech Support Business

SeñorAmorSeñorAmor Registered User regular
Bear with me here, please. This is likely going to be ramble-y and longish.

I am currently the sole IT person at my company. I wear many hats. I am a web developer, network and server admin, computer builder and fixer, and I go out and do any necessary programming for devices we sell and install.

Over the course of the many years I've worked here, I've frequently dealt with clients that either do not have, or do not need a full-time IT person. On countless occasions, I've been asked to help with some sort of computer or techie-related problem. If it wasn't too obscene a request, I've always tried my best to consult and help. Many times a client has commented that it would be nice to have me around to help when needed instead of using the 3rd party support service they currently use (and paying a sizable sum, to boot).

I have always wanted to work for myself and do consulting and/or IT work for companies who cannot afford to have an IT person on staff, and I've toyed with the idea for several years now.