Our rules have been updated and given their own forum. Go and look at them! They are nice, and there may be new ones that you didn't know about! Hooray for rules! Hooray for The System! Hooray for Conforming!
Our new Indie Games subforum is now open for business in G&T. Go and check it out, you might land a code for a free game. If you're developing an indie game and want to post about it, follow these directions. If you don't, he'll break your legs! Hahaha! Seriously though.

[TRENCHES] Tuesday, September 1, 2015 - Artifact Of Misdirection

DogDog Registered User, Administrator, Vanilla Staff admin
edited September 2015 in The Penny Arcade Hub
Artifact Of Misdirection

Artifact Of Misdirection
http://trenchescomic.com/comic/post/artifact-of-misdirection

Wanting to Excel

Anonymous

A while back I worked as a GM at an online gaming publisher. Probably not surprisingly, spreadsheets were used to track many things. Item distributions, promotions, various tables of game-related data, etc. Things that naturally fell into spreadsheet format. So over the years, a lot of Excel documents had accumulated, with base templates, layouts, and even functions so that you could easily copy and paste data in for quickly extracting the needed information. At one point I was assigned to perform this sort of data extrapolation. Specifically, paste in data concerning how much we’d made on a certain promotion, broken down by reward tier, and crunch it.

There was only one problem: I didn’t have Excel installed on my machine. No problem, said my lead; he’d go get IT to bring over the disc and install it. A while later he returned with bad news: due to recent company policy, only team leads were allowed to install Office, to save money. Except, of course, the leads were always busy doing important things—they would never have the time to sit down and do what essentially amounted to mindless data entry in Excel.