Our rules have been updated and given their own forum. Go and look at them! They are nice, and there may be new ones that you didn't know about! Hooray for rules! Hooray for The System! Hooray for Conforming!
Our new Indie Games subforum is now open for business in G&T. Go and check it out, you might land a code for a free game. If you're developing an indie game and want to post about it, follow these directions. If you don't, he'll break your legs! Hahaha! Seriously though.

confused old [chat]

• ArchArch Trust me, I'm a scientist Registered User regular
    fucking piece of shit gel trays ruining my run

@winky

the gel fucked up under the comb and didn't make wells or something so when I pipetted in my pcr stuff it all just like...floated away

this is the second time this happened

you would think I would learn and check first

nope.jpg
  • CindersCinders Registered User regular
    edited May 2013
    TehSloth wrote: »
    Someone on /r/programming suggesting you use floats to represent money. Teehee.

Maybe he needs to represent A LOT of money.

That's even worse! A float is an approximation, not an exact number. It always has the same number of significant digits, so the bigger the number gets, the more digits disappear.

One trillion represented as a float is 999999995904. A double is better, but is still imprecise and rounding errors will accumulate over time.

Hasn't anyone seen Hackers or Office Space?
    Cinders on
  • knitdanknitdan Registered User regular
    Apparently the engine they use for Battlefield doesn't support the WiiU.

They didn't rule out future titles, just aren't currently developing any.

Most of the people who play EA Sports games aren't buying WiiU anyway.
  • RiemannLivesRiemannLives Registered User regular

That's even worse! A float is an approximation, not an exact number. It always has the same number of significant digits, so the bigger the number gets, the more digits disappear.