Our rules have been updated and given their own forum. Go and look at them! They are nice, and there may be new ones that you didn't know about! Hooray for rules! Hooray for The System! Hooray for Conforming!
Our new Indie Games subforum is now open for business in G&T. Go and check it out, you might land a code for a free game. If you're developing an indie game and want to post about it, follow these directions. If you don't, he'll break your legs! Hahaha! Seriously though.

Ho! Ha ha! Guard! Turn! Parry! Dodge! Spin! Ha! Thrust! [Chat]!

• CasualCasual IT'S CRIME TIME MOTHAFUCKAS WE OUTRegistered User regular
    Mojo_Jojo wrote: »
    Back when I was a computer scientist we had a module that had us do all the assignments twice: Once in java and once in Haskell.

The marking schemes were such though that it wasn't strictly 50:50. In fact it was possible to get a solid 2i with only doing one of the two implementations. So we all just abandoned the Haskell after the first week.
    A friend of mine learnt haskell as their first language. Learning that mode of thinking first really really helped I think.

That is interesting, but I'm worried it may be like only allowing your children to learn Esperanto.

"could you please summon the hall porter, there appears to be a frog in my bidet"
    R.I.P Sir Check
    i write amazing erotic fiction

its all about anthropomorphic dicks doing everyday things like buying shoes for their scrotum-feet
    ??/02/2009 - 19/04/2013
    He lives on as cheezburger grease in our hearts.
  • OrganichuOrganichu Registered User regular
    tav do you not program recreationally at all?
  • HenroidHenroid Baba Booey to y'all Tyler, TX (where hope comes to die!)Registered User regular
    Ahhhhh, Stern Show has thrown me off this morning. They've got three guests on today so the show immediately opens with an interview (super rare). Jimmy Kimmel, then JJ Abrams, and then Rod Stewart. Used to interviewers being mid-show.